Day 4 of my happiness experiment- A bit of a girly theme to it, make up, gfs and eggs..

First and only full day at Cameron House. We went for  breakfast at the main building, a ceremony of boyfs dad opening all 52 of his presents, swimming in the pool-I did four lengths (check me out!) and walked (the long way back) to the lodge we are staying at.

1 positive thing that happened today:

I saw a Oyster Catcher’s nest and 4 eggs for the first time. I’ve been on walks and what not, but I’ve never been lucky enough to ever see a wild bird’s eggs before. We decided to go for a little detour after swimming, and boyfs sister told me to watch where I step because there are nests on the floor this time of year.

Two seconds later, “oh look there’s the nest!” and there were for large speckled eggs! I felt like the luckiest gal in the world to behold such a organic sight! I was awfully tempted to go in for a closer look (I should really wear my glasses..) but was told that the mother may abandon the nest if she see’s people near it for too long..

Ah well, the image of those blurry eggs will stay in my mind for years to come, and I can add it to my treasured memory bank like many of my other first times (you know, first time I rode a bike, first time I got rode like a bike..).

3 new things you are grateful for each day:

  1. Getting to try a new local dish– We went to a breakfast buffet and I had Haggis for the first time ever-And I loved it!
  2. I’m not one of those girls that wear a lot of makeup every day– I haven’t had to pack much for this 2 day trip but I managed to forget my moisturizer, I always leave one thing or another. Luckily the only repercussion is that my face feels a little dry (boyf thinks this is a form of addiction and I should quit..). I can’t imagine if I was a make up  addict and forgetting one of my items. I’m glad I don’t feel ugly without one product or another..
  3. People who are upfront and honest about who they are– I met a family friend’s daughter-a 17 year old student with a gorgeous Scottish accent. We talked about what she’s studying- performing arts and she mentioned that her boyfriend also studied drama, to which she immediately followed up with “you can imagine what our arguments are like-a wee bit dramatic to say the least!”. I love the reflective and self aware types.

1 act of kindness:
Sent a Facebook message to a fantastic gf of mine to say thank you for giving me all the relationship advice over the years.

Going to Scotland counts as travelling doesn’t it? That would explain why I’ve been able to find so much new stuff to appreciate-the stuff in the new place and the stuff from home.

Are there people out there who really love their make up and really can’t travel without it? Let me know how you feel about it in the comments y’all!

Leave a Reply

