Do marketing shows work?

image

Check out all the free shit I got from Marketing Week’s online marketing show!

As you can imagine, you don’t get free stuff for no reason. Each of these items cost me 2 mins of my time. Generally I stood there like a lemon letting the sales person pitch their product at me.. I swapped a few business cards but was mostly disappointed that there weren’t more services/suppliers that could help me do my job better.

I find myself wondering how many leads do people get from the show, and then how many of those leads are actually good. I don’t imagine many..I don’t plan to call any of those guys anytime soon.

Or is the show more about branding rather than lead generation?

Is it like a party you should be seen at even though you know you have better things to do with your time? If it is the latter then I think a lot of the exhibitors should do the show with a mentality. Bottom line is, just straight up directly selling your product at an exhibition is boring, we need to start selling indirectly.

Back to the party analogy:

You can always spot the guys who are blatantly there trying to score. Their advances are often off-putting and isn’t fruitful. Girls stay the f*** away from them because the smell of desperation is vomit inducing.

My thoughts on how it should be done

Instead of going to the party to hit on people, go to the party and make an impression and the phone numbers will follow.

This means doing something memorable like vomit in the sink instead of the toilet..(ideally you should try be remembered for something positive but lets be honest..it’s really hard unless you are a talented musician and even then you risk looking like a show off).

But my point is, more exhibitors should go to the show just to make an impression rather than to sell sell sell.

My manager suggested getting 2 hot girls and 2 hot guys to jiggle about on the stand.. But I actually think we can work with this. Our brand name is the name of a fish that lives in the ocean, so we should totally dress up in beach wear! Something, anything will do!

Overall, sorry freebie guys, try harder next time and thanks for the sweets!

Why do you guys go to industry shows? What are your leads like?

Leave a Reply

